DLA appeal

Moderators: perseus, *Lisa*, FluppyPuffy

DLA appeal

Postby claireh18 » Fri Mar 16, 2012 6:32 pm

Hi
I have recently been refused mobility component of DLA (previously got HRM) as a consultant i saw once, a year ago, stated that i could walk a quarter of a mile, and that any more than that would result in widespread pain. The conversation we actually had was something like 'how far can you walk without severe pain...half a mile, quarter of a mile?' to which i replied 'nowhere near that far'.
Although i put 0 metres in my claim renewal, my reconsideration has been turned down and i am now going to appeal.
My GP who knows me very well is currently off sick and will not return to work until well after the deadline for getting appeal info in, and locum i saw will not give me anything as she does not know me well enough. She suggested that i make a private appointment to see a consultant rheumatologist, which i did. At the end of this appointemnt, i mentioned the problem with the DLA, and she said that she would not be prepared to comment until she had seen me again (bearing in mind it is £250 per appointemnt) following more blood tests at my local surgery. I am now waiting for a letter from her and hoping there will be something i can use towards evidence for the appeal.

The first time i was awarded DLA i was working full-time, and have now been off sick for 7 months due to fibro. My condition has worsened, so i don't understand why i was refused mobility.
Has anyone got any suggestions as to what i can put in my appeal? Not had to do one before and need to get it right. I know i will need to be honest and say how things usually affect me, but it is difficult to know how to word that i am unable to walk anywhere outside without support (due to the pain!) except to my car (2 steps out of the house!) :-?

If anyone has any suggestions then i would be extremely grateful, thank you
claireh18
UKFM Member

Re: DLA appeal

Postby tanyaj » Fri Mar 16, 2012 7:36 pm