ATOS MEDICAL

Moderators: perseus, *Lisa*, FluppyPuffy

ATOS MEDICAL

Postby Mavrocat » Mon Mar 26, 2012 1:52 pm

Hi, I am new to this and just had my diagnosis of fibro and hyper mobility in dec 2011. Think i have had fibro for few years but just kept plodding on. I have just been asked to attend ATOS medical on 4 April. I would appreciate any advice, information that would be helpful and beneficial to help me with this and what to expect. Some people seem to have an unpleasant experience and seem to have to fight to get benefit they deserve. Why to some people seem to get the help and benefit they need and others don't. Look forward to your advice
Mavrocat
UKFM Newbie

Re: ATOS MEDICAL

Postby denys » Mon Mar 26, 2012 5:50 pm

I think the most important thing is to take someone with you so that they can keep an ear open for everything that is said. Dont panic and be honest, cos that way you will always remeber what you said, ask for a copy of the report and go through it with a fine toothcomb :goodluck1: and :fingerscrossed:
Denys

As a Public Moderator of this forum my opinions/views expressed are personal and are no more valid than those of other members and not necessarily those of UKFibromyalgia.
denys
UKFM Veteran

Postby Itsonlyme! » Mon Mar 26, 2012 7:25 pm

Hi there, I agree with denys, I would take someone in with you if you can, I have had a few of these, weren't that great in the beginning I have to say so best to be totally honest and explain as clearly as you can what both your bad days and better days if any are like, don't be frightened to ask questions, what they know about Fibro, what happens next etc, don't do what I did the first time I went and come out wishing I'd have asked various things.