Working from home - is it a reasonable adjustment

Moderators: perseus, *Lisa*, FluppyPuffy

Working from home - is it a reasonable adjustment

Postby MairiHarper » Sun Apr 21, 2013 4:55 pm

Hi all
I'm looking for thoughts on this situation - I've been off work for four months and I'm now keen to get back if I can. I'm a lecturer which means that I teach one day a week for three months (one term). The rest of the time I do research or marking essays etc. I've asked if I could work from home unless I'm needed in the office for teaching, meetings or training. I'd be happy to arrange 2 days at the office and the other 3 days at home. My employer has said no because it would be inconvenient in case anyone wanted to speak to me on the days I'm not in the office but I think thats what phones and emails are for. Does anyone have a view on whether this might be considered a reasonable adjustment or not? I live 45 minutes from work so the extra one and a half hours would be too much every day, not to mention things like pacing activities being easier at home etc.
MairiHarper
UKFM Member

Re: Working from home - is it a reasonable adjustment

Postby Kyomii » Sun Apr 21, 2013 5:22 pm

I presume you are UK based? Do you claim DLA at all? An employer has to make reasonable adjustments for the disabled by law in the workplace, so if they have not done this then your suggestion of working from home is more than reasonable. Tell him you will set skype up for conference with anyone who wants to talk to you, and you will have a dedicated phone number for one to one contact. Tell him it is either this or he will need to start paying for adjustments in the workplace to accommodate you. A disability employment advisor can work alongside you to get the changes/help you work from home. I wouldn't take no for an answer on the home work so use tactics. Technically, they even have to help towards costs for things like a comfy chair etc at home. Good luck!
Kyomii
UKFM Member