ESA and Sick notes?

Moderators: perseus, *Lisa*, FluppyPuffy

ESA and Sick notes?

Postby countyfan » Sat Apr 27, 2013 8:11 pm

I know this might sound silly but please excuse me as I am new to all this being 'signed off sick'

As I have mentioned in another post, I have had to resign from my previous work due to the heavy lifting involved. However I have been told by both my consultant and GP that I am not fit for any work at the moment, so I have a sick note for 6 weeks currently. I have also just been awarded LR care DLA.

What's confusing me is when people are talking about these ATOS medicals. Surely, if both a GP and a consultant agree that you are unfit for work, an assessor from ATOS can't overturn that? Or can they.

I have just sent off the first lot of forms requesting ESA, as I was having to wait for my ex employer to forward my P45. What happens next?

Would appreciate any advice you can give me. I am even getting to be a danger to myself when on my own at home, as on Friday I managed to stab my hand on a kitchen knife! I ended up in A&E being glued/stitched up LOL :roll:
countyfan
UKFM Member

Re: ESA and Sick notes?

Postby kazza65 » Sat Apr 27, 2013 8:23 pm

country fan

i know what your going through i've been of sick for 10yrs plus because i've got floating kneecaps and now i've be diagnosed with fibro and osteoarthritis of the spine.

And a week thursday gone i got a letter from dwp to say that somebody from dwp will ring me regrading my incapity benefit and my lr care & rate mobility, she rang and told me that it was a cursity call just to see if i recieved the letter and if i understood it. I said it was a bit vague and she explained that when the forms come to put everything on and as much detail as possible and return it back by the date it said. Also she said that not everybody is called for an assissment.

So i don't know what to think.

if you get and clues please do share thoughs

Karen