Scared as hell about loosing my part time job

Moderators: perseus, *Lisa*, FluppyPuffy

Scared as hell about loosing my part time job

Postby plumbchick » Fri Jul 12, 2013 11:35 am

Hello everybody :)

I have been worrying and fretting for months now and wanted to see if anyone could offer any advice. I am a full time mature student. I have been working for the same company for six years now and in September went part time to start my degree. I have been off work since March now because I was hospitalised when I lost the feeling in my lower limbs and had unbearable back pain. Finally got a proper diagnosis on my spine and it is Degenerative Disc Disease with three herniated discs, adding this to my Fibromyalgia equals a whole lot of pain which has prevented me from working.

It is now coming to a point where my employer has called in a private medical company who wrote a rather impersonal report rendering me pretty much useless in terms of recovery time. I am now so terribly scared about being told I am not fit for my job role and my contract terminated. I am dealing with the pain a little easier now and mobility has improved. I have enquired as to whether a workplace adaptation can be made with the use of a proper office chair that reaches a counter level, enabling me to perform the customer facing side of the role.

What worries me is that they are going to tell me because I can not do the warehouse side of the job and therefore will fire me.

I just got my exam results and that was a huge relief to pass this year despite everything ..... but this matter is eating away at me and making flare ups unbearable.....If anyone can offer any advice I would be so very grateful......

Advanced Thanks and Warm wishes for a pain free day ;-) PlumbChick
plumbchick
UKFM Member

Re: Scared as hell about loosing my part time job

Postby fibro-lu » Fri Jul 12, 2013 10:51 pm

hi and welcome

just a quick note to check out for you: