ESA assessment- will volunteering and illnesses affect much?

Moderators: perseus, *Lisa*, FluppyPuffy

ESA assessment- will volunteering and illnesses affect much?

Postby bouncer0304 » Fri Apr 18, 2014 3:43 pm

I'm brand new to this so sorry if this has been asked before. I am currently volunteering in a charity shop for five hours a week. I'm on the till, however, someone is always with me incase i make a mistake or become ill suddenly, i don't do any lifting/bending and i'm the only one who is able to use a chair as i need a mix of standing, walking and sitting because just doing one for a short time (about half an hour) makes me very uncomfortable.

I was volunteering before my diagnosis and am continuing on the instruction of my doctor and rhumatologist who have both said it's good as it provides social skills and interaction with others that i don't get at home besides my family. I find the five hours is my limit and it takes about four days to recover. My first question is how much do you think it'll affect my assessment? I am limited in what i do and even after such a short amount of time i'm completely exhausted and in a lot or pain. I'm worried that they'll assume that i can do loads when even going to my local town for an hour is exhausting for me?

The other thing i wondered is whether it's worth me mentioning how ill i can get with colds, IBS etc? Recently i was taken to hospital and it turned out i had Gastroenteritis but the doctor made it clear that my fatigue (i'd been out for my birthday, the next day i went out twice to see my doctor and a family meal plus the next morning i had to go to town as i'd forgotten some items) and my immune system which was down because i was tired played a big part in me being hospitalised.