Do I resign?

Enjoy general conversation with other members

Moderators: perseus, *Lisa*, FluppyPuffy

Do I resign?

Postby Lorirach » Sun Aug 03, 2014 4:06 pm

I am really struggling at work. I am a nurse and we are constantly short-staffed and the staff that show up tend to be bank staff that haven't a clue about the ward routine so I am doing twice as much work. My manager agreed to lowering my hours to just one night a week but I am struggling with that. I am so tired and in so much pain I am taking 5 days to recover from one night shift. My children are only 9and 7 and yet they are having to do so much for me :( When I was signed off I actually managed to live a fairly normal home life, my hubby just doing shopping and heavy housework etc but now I am back to work I am so exhausted they have to do everything and I am in tears most evenings with the pain, however I am scared if I resign that I will never work again. Decisions decisions!! And by looking at other people with FM I doubt I would get any benefits, so I need to earn something :s
Lorirach
UKFM Member

Re: Do I resign?

Postby denys » Sun Aug 03, 2014 6:18 pm

Unfortunately we cant help you make such a big decision but we can offer maybe some nuggets of advice. Go to your local one stop shop and ask about any benefits you might be entitled to if you were to finish work etc. Talk to your husband to see what your financial state would be without your contribution and if by careful management you would be able to manage. Look at other jobs you may be able to do maybe still within your profession. It would be very easy for us to say oh yes give in but we arent in your position and dont have to live your life.

Onc you have spoken to your husband, maybe worked out your finances then talk to your manager etc. as there could be something they can do to help. I was finished up at work and havent managed to go back and I do miss the social part of things and it left me in a very dark place for quite a while.