New bed & mattress

All your fibromyalgia experiences, questions and answers.

Moderators: perseus, *Lisa*, FluppyPuffy

New bed & mattress

Postby KellyBelly » Sat Dec 29, 2012 6:14 pm

Hi all

I hope you are all doing as well as possible and that you all had a lovely Christmas. I know I'm not a prolific poster on here, but I was wondering f I could ask for your advice. (My apologies - I'm sure this topic has already been covered, but my internet connection is shocking atm and I can't search properly on my phone!)

So a few months ago my bed broke - it was a very old divan and me & the mattress finally went through the bed frame......my OH found this amusing - I was less pleased! :lol: My family have given us a small budget to get us a new bed, and we think if we shop in the sales - we might be able to stretch to a new mattress too (the one on the broken divan is older than me....and we're currently just sleeping on the mattress on the floor. Getting up each morning is a bit of a task!)

What do you fibromites suggest?

1. Divan, wood or metal frame?

2. Wooden slats or sprung base?

3. Firm, soft or other mattress?

My budget is ok, but not great - so I might have to just get the bed frame for now and save up for a new mattress - but any advice would be much appreciated!

Thank you x
KellyBelly
UKFM Member

Re: New bed & mattress

Postby lolabolla » Sat Dec 29, 2012 6:22 pm

I have a metal frame bed at the moment, it looks good but I hate the thing.

I use a lot of pillows to 'prop' me up but they soon push through the metal headboard and I am forever having to mess about with the pillows.

The bed also has wood slats and every time I move or turn over it makes the loudest squeeks and pings..............................

My last bed was a divan and I was more than happy with it.

My next project in the house is to have the bedroom walls skimmed, I'll be buying a new divan bed then too.

Lola xx
lolabolla
UKFM Member

Postby jane.k » Sat Dec 29, 2012 6:36 pm