Working with fibromyalgia

All your fibromyalgia experiences, questions and answers.

Moderators: perseus, *Lisa*, FluppyPuffy

Working with fibromyalgia

Postby charlie9 » Sun Dec 30, 2012 4:21 pm

I am a midwife and work 12.5 hour shifts sometimes without a break. If it is a break its normally a working one while writing notes or discussing care for a patient. It is mostly on your feet all day and its rare I go home on time at the moment. I feel absolutely exhausted, my body feels battered at the end of each day and I am really struggling. At times there is little support and when I'm struggling I feel others view me as weak and pathetic. I'm newly diagnosed, and have chatted to other staff and managers because I just couldn't hide it any more. Some have been supportive others have just made me feel pathetic. I have to wait for a referral to occupational health to then start discussing my health and how I can ease the symptoms. Taking forever and I am due to start night shifts soon and I'm on amitriptyline. :-( sadly thinking I need to change jobs as this is battering me. It's work and Try to recover from work so I can go to my next shift! Just so exhausted and this environment makes you fearful of how people see you. My big fear right now is that I have a lot of responsibility plus long hrs in a very physical, emotional and stressful environment may have serious consequences especially if I am not supported and shown understanding. I'm 25 and really worried about it all and my future. This is my first time on a forum, looking to discuss issues with other suffers who can understand how I feel! X
The love from my dog helps me everyday. How can you not smile with a great dane charging at you with a wagging tail every day! x
charlie9
UKFM Member

Re: Working with fibromyalgia

Postby charlie9 » Sun Dec 30, 2012 4:23 pm