Any teachers with FM?

All your fibromyalgia experiences, questions and answers.

Moderators: perseus, *Lisa*, FluppyPuffy

Any teachers with FM?

Postby FinkyDink » Wed Jan 23, 2013 12:07 pm

Hi,

I am currently signed off work for a month, with depression caused by FM. I was literally unable to get out of bed and realised that it was obviously affecting my work. The mental health nurse has suggested re thinking my career.

I am currently a teacher of maths, accountancy and business in a small independent school. I was headhunted from a previous role as a lecturer in business and accounts at a college.

The pros of the job: as it's a private school, the kids are supposedly better behaved than the average. The class sizes are smaller. Good holidays and quite well paid.

The cons: it's a 40 minute drive on a good day. It's a 7:30 start. I don't really need to tell fellow FM sufferers how tiring that is. The kids aren't that nice. It's full time, and basically if I do NOTHING ELSE but sleep, I can manage a full week at work.

So my dilemma. I'd like a life. Also, obviously I'm a tired painful thing which makes me moody and I take it out on the kids. Not their fault. I don't think I'm performing to my full potential.

My options: take some time off to see if I can build up some muscle (rheumatologist idea) to better cope with the pain, get sleeping sorted and go back full time. See if I can work part time. Quit and try another career (I am an accountant 'by trade')

As you may know, with schools, it's all timetabled so it will be difficult to suddenly go part time in the middle of the term. I also don't want to mess the kids up too much with their education.

It's a very small school, I doubt they've had anyone disabled on the staff before. There isn't an hr dept as such so no particular procedures on this.

Id love general advice/ experience from other people, especially if there are any teachers about?
FinkyDink
UKFM Member

Re: Any teachers with FM?