Can anyone help with this one

All your fibromyalgia experiences, questions and answers.

Moderators: perseus, *Lisa*, FluppyPuffy

Can anyone help with this one

Postby Diane64 » Mon Sep 23, 2013 2:33 pm

Hi there, i regularly do high impact work outs, about 2/3 classes a week, last friday i done a class but my calfs have been in agony since and can hardly walk, the pain feels like ive been a complete newbie to these excercises.

I thought that if you were kinda used to excersising regularly this pain would not occur, is it now a case that due to fibro my muscles become too fatigued and pain will now be a regular thing? im a bit scared now, but cannot think of anything worse to give up my classes, covered lower legs with ibrufen gel this morning, still in agony!! feeling sad :(
Diane64
UKFM Member

Re: Can anyone help with this one

Postby whoami » Mon Sep 23, 2013 3:47 pm

Don't give up your classes, just cut back on the intensity of them. Listen to your body. Doing what you are is great but don't overdo and irritate.

My legs really hurt at times and the only over the counter thing that helps is ...Arnica Gel. It really does work for me
[i][b]

Expect the worst in life you won't be disapointed and you'll be prepared!
whoami
UKFM Regular

Postby Johafa » Mon Sep 23, 2013 4:25 pm

Hi,

I was told to avoid any type of exercises that impacted the body. My GP and my consultant strongly suggested swimming, aqua running, walking or cycling. I swim and do aqua running. They do tire me out and I get some pain but I also realise that I am somewhat getting stronger. When I swim, I don't seem to get the dizzy spells I get when I walk. I have FM and chronic back pains.
Johafa
UKFM Member

Postby AJay71 » Mon Sep 23, 2013 4:57 pm

I used to do yoga and hill walking. Now I can barely stand on my own 2 feet for 10 minutes without being in excruciating pain. I have had fibro for 20 years. It definitely is a progressive condition.