voice/singing

All your fibromyalgia experiences, questions and answers.

Moderators: perseus, *Lisa*, FluppyPuffy

voice/singing

Postby annet » Wed Dec 04, 2013 11:44 pm

I used to have a good singing voice years ago but since getting FM 13 years ago I have trouble with singing. I want to sing a choir but am not sure my voice is up to it these days. Does FM affect the voice? Anyone else found the same as me? Maybe it's not FM that is my problem. What do you think?
annet
UKFM Member

Re: voice/songing

Postby MusoHolli » Wed Dec 04, 2013 11:52 pm

I'm a professional performer with FM (newly diagnosed) and until i was diagnosed i had to take a sabattical.
I'm back now to a degree but it has diminished my diaphram capacity.
Pilates is amazing for core strength and general stretching. If you have an Iphone or android get a vocal warm up app to help you and check youtube for some warm up excursuses do these daily and build up stamina and strength and you should be fine. Do not over reach. Do little and often and you may even find the release it brings will ease any pain.

Hollie x

(sorry for SP mistakes, i took my contacts out early!)
MusoHolli
UKFM Newbie

Re: voice/songing

Postby mandymoomoo » Thu Dec 05, 2013 2:57 am

Hi Annet
I too struggle with singing, I used to have lessons and was in various choirs that I enjoyed immensely. I've had FM since childhood that has been manageable, but I was left with 'ME' after a bad dose of Swine Flu 4 years ago, and with this on top of the FM it's completely wiped me out, and has left me with no stamina and I've not been able to work since. When I'm fatigued my voice is the 1st thing that goes (my mum can even tell when I'm having a bad day when I talk to her on the phone by the strength of my voice). It definitely affects me. I also chew lots of gum as my mouth gets so dry too.

Anyway good luck with it and hope the good advice from Hollie helps you :-D x
mandymoomoo
UKFM Newbie

Re: voice/singing