Update and advice needed

All your fibromyalgia experiences, questions and answers.

Moderators: perseus, *Lisa*, FluppyPuffy

Update and advice needed

Postby SopsIsTops88 » Sun Jan 19, 2014 5:17 pm

Hi there,

It's been a little while since I last posted. Last time I wrote id just had my formal diagnosis and felt very happy to finally know the answer to why Id been feeling so ill for a long time.

After the initial happiness phase I went through a long spell of feeling down and struggling to cope, and thinking "why me?" I guess that is a normal feeling to have after diagnosis...

I've started on Amitriptyline to help me sleep and that has been working to a certain extent and the pain killers I'm on still help me. My next appointment with the rheumatologist is in a few months and hopefully I can look at having some other treatments.

I'm a graphic designer and I tried to get the help I needed at work by asking if I could work from home one day a week and the HR department where very rude and basically said they'd try to get me out of my job if I was too ill to be in the office all of the time and said that I can't expect any special treatment just because I had an illness.

After that I was very upset and wanted to leave my job as they were very uncaring and I was lucky enough to get a new role at a dream job I've wanted for the past 7 years.

I've been there for a week already and I'm loving it. The only thing is that I've been so busy ive had to work through my breaks and work late every night. I've been coping well all week apart from the normal everyday aches and pains but now it's the weekend I feel like I'm crashing and burning. In the evenings I'm sometimes so tired I can hardly function. I had terrible symptoms yesterday and even worse today and I have to work another full time week starting tomorrow and I'm really worried.