Working/career?

All your fibromyalgia experiences, questions and answers.

Moderators: perseus, *Lisa*, FluppyPuffy

Working/career?

Postby shoog » Sat Jan 25, 2014 3:57 pm

Hey all,

I'm relatively new to all of this. I'm 27, currently studying a second undergrad and I'm in the middle of trying to get a fibro diagnosis (GP is pretty certain). I have a few other health problems, premature menapause due to primary ovarian failure and chronic sarcoidosis.

As I'm kinda at the start of my working life (I have worked full time before, but not in what I wanted to do which is why I went back to university) and I'm worried already about the impact of my illnesses on my career. I really want to work in adult education and community development, and I hope that's where I'll end up when I finally graduate from university (sadly not until I'm 30!) but I worry because my symptoms are already having a massive impact on my studies (uni are threatening to withdraw me if I don't get my work in) and I'm scared that I'll never be able to work full time. That's really important to me because there is so much I want to achieve and it seems impossible without a full time job.

I guess I'm just interested in finding out how many of you are able to hold down full time jobs, and if it has a serious impact on your health?
Lauren
shoog
UKFM Member

Re: Working/career?

Postby libbiek30 » Sat Jan 25, 2014 4:44 pm

Hi I work 30 hours and term time amd that is more than enough! Maybe u cud teach part-time. :-D
libbiek30
UKFM Member

Postby cozza50 » Sat Jan 25, 2014 5:05 pm

hi i currantly work 30 hrs a week and its such a struggle im waiting for assesment appointment for PIP if i can get that then i can lower my hours and life would be a bit better for me
cozza50
UKFM Member

Postby SopsIsTops88 » Sat Jan 25, 2014 11:27 pm

Hi I'm Sophie,