Writing and spelling

All your fibromyalgia experiences, questions and answers.

Moderators: perseus, *Lisa*, FluppyPuffy

Writing and spelling

Postby dejay » Thu Apr 17, 2014 8:53 am

I used to be good at spelling and writing,used to get compliments on my writing and spelling was not a problem, but I dont know when it all went wrong, I struggle with spelling a simple word now, and I have to realy take my time to write, has any one have this happen.? It is as if my mind wont let me do what I want to do. also I am just learning the computer and using one finger to type, I go to press a letter but find I have pressed the wrong one andI cant see where it is wrong if you can understand what I mean,Does fm affect skills you once had?
dejay
UKFM Member

Re: Writing and spelling

Postby dee28 » Thu Apr 17, 2014 9:16 am

Hi dejay,

I struggle the same as you with words also I can go to a cupboard and not know what I need to make some simple dish which is really had for me as I was a chef for 40yrs until I could not work any longer due to Fm. I have found if you try not to stress over it, it makes it a bit easier but not always and it is easier said than done. Good luck. have a good and pain free day.
dee28
UKFM Newbie

Postby coletalbot » Thu Apr 17, 2014 9:29 am

I've always been very good with words and spelling but I find myself forgetting a word I was going to say in the middle of a sentence & playing charades to try to remember it. Thank god for computer spell check. I've had to correct 2 words of this already. I also forget the names of everyday objects or get them mixed up things like microwave and dishwasher. Words I regularly forget I write down & stare at until I commit them to memory. My friends find it comical & like playing the game. It is so frustrating though sometimes when you can't remember the words to get your point across.
coletalbot
UKFM Member

Postby painprincess1 » Thu Apr 17, 2014 10:38 am