Fibro and relationships.

All your fibromyalgia experiences, questions and answers.

Moderators: perseus, *Lisa*, FluppyPuffy

Fibro and relationships.

Postby shoog » Sat May 17, 2014 12:40 am

How do you guys manage in your romantic relationships/marriages? Do you have a partner who " understands" fibro? Are they supportive? Have they always been? I'm asking because I'm new to this. My partner and I have been together for a couple of years. I've been ill for all of that time, but in various intensities. I'm feeling a bit frustrated at the moment because it's really hard to communicate to someone that is always well gets it feels like to have chronic ill health. It's not even that healthy people are unwilling to understand, it's just that it's fairly impossible to truly "get it". It's not major things that are causing me upset, more just things like insensitive suggestions "maybe you should get out for a walk if you're stiff " and things like "it'll get better". It's not like these statements are nasty, just ignorant and insensitive and I don't really know how to handle it without being all "woe is me" which just isn't my style!

So how did you help your partner/husband /wife understand?
Lauren
shoog
UKFM Member

Re: Fibro and relationships.

Postby denys » Sat May 17, 2014 5:49 am

Hi Lauren, for me it was printing out the 'one for the non-believers' and the 'spoon theory' and getting the family to read it, I am very lucky that my husband and kids have never disbelieved anything, though the same cant be said for certain other family members. So I showed them it seems to work as it explains in everyday language what its like on a certain day. Shaz wrote the one for non-believers and she has always said she doesnt mind people using it just give the credit for writing it to her :-D :-D :-D
Denys

As a Public Moderator of this forum my opinions/views expressed are personal and are no more valid than those of other members and not necessarily those of UKFibromyalgia.