Walking aids

All your fibromyalgia experiences, questions and answers.

Moderators: perseus, *Lisa*, FluppyPuffy

Walking aids

Postby lisa m 1973 » Mon May 26, 2014 2:49 pm

I've been using a quad stick to help my mobility for about 5 years now. At first this was hard for me but I've gotten used to it.

However now with the addition of fibro to my already complex health I am struggling to get about just using the stick so I have now ordered myself one of those four wheeled rollaters with a seat.

Trouble is I'm only 40 and I feel self conscious at the thought of going out with this. I already feel like an old woman beyond my years. I know in the long run it's for the best and will help me stay mobile a while longer but I'm beginning to feel old before my time and I'm struggling to get my head round that x

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
lisa m 1973
UKFM Member

Re: Walking aids

Postby marie marrison » Mon May 26, 2014 3:30 pm

I wouldn`t worry lisa, I am walking with a cane for the last 3 years, and my best friend who is also forty as to used a mobility scooter, and wheelchair , so u are not on your own, the main thing is that u can going out for a bit xx :-)
marie marrison
UKFM Member

Postby Garyl » Mon May 26, 2014 3:39 pm

Lisa do not worry about it, i have progressed from a walking stick referred to in house physio at GP's who got me a 2nd which was a struggle so with a matter of 10 days was using a three wheeled rollater, mine has a bag attached which is useful when shopping.

You have to do what makes life more comfortable for you.
Garyl
UKFM Member

Postby lisa m 1973 » Mon May 26, 2014 5:12 pm

I'm doing everything I can to avoid using a wheelchair as my hubby is of the impression that once you go down that route you lose all use of your legs and that scares me x

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
lisa m 1973
UKFM Member

Postby Sallyann » Mon May 26, 2014 6:06 pm