Update on my meditation practice

All your fibromyalgia experiences, questions and answers.

Moderators: perseus, *Lisa*, FluppyPuffy

Update on my meditation practice

Postby migrembe » Fri Jul 04, 2014 10:35 am

I have meditated for some 30 years or more, on and off. I began to meditate to prevent my chronic depression from dragging me down into dark holes. After several years of unresolved pain issues and fatigue i was diagnosed with FM 3 years ago. I do not tolerate medication very well and since Christmas i have been on and then off so many different things that either caused instant allergic reactions or they were a few weeks grace before the reactions came anyway. The reactions to the medication was worse than living with the pain. In the end, being a staff nurse, i decided to wean myself off all my pills one at a time to see what would happen. I came to realise that the pain and fatigue was no worse for no pills and no better with them, unless it was very severe, yet i needed something that would let me have control of my body and mind. I firmly believe that FM is more a mind than a body thing, although the body pays the price in pain and fatigue.

So in the New Year with yet more pills being ticked off as no use to me, i decided to get back into meditation. At first i would try and lie still for a few moments and quiet my mind from all it's chatter. I was beginning to think i was losing the battle for my life but recently i began using a comfortable sitting position to meditate in. As i sit i can feel the pain humming through my body and i welcome it, i acknowledge it, but then just let it be. I no longer try to make the muscle or limb relax i just let it be. I can now sit for 20 minutes at a time and i am having some success with the pain and fatigue levels. Although i am also learning to pace myself too. It is all part of being mindful of our bodies within time and space.