So Confused - Flare Up?

All your fibromyalgia experiences, questions and answers.

Moderators: perseus, *Lisa*, FluppyPuffy

So Confused - Flare Up?

Postby Padster » Wed Dec 30, 2015 9:08 pm

Hi All

Having a bad day (bad 11 days actually) so need some help and understanding!

I'm so confused by this crazy condition. Almost wish I hadn't been diagnosed and still thought that I was just having weird random pains. Psychologically I think I dealt with it much better that way!

Normally my symptoms are relatively mild compared to a lot of you on here. But 11 days ago my lower back suddenly went from its normal 2-3 out of 10 pain rating to a 7-8 out of 10. No idea why, it just did. My other symptoms are pretty much the same. It improved a bit to around a 5 out of 10 but is edging up again with peaks at 8 depending on what I'm doing.

My question is, is this a Flare Up or have I just "done my back in" - unrelated to Fibro? I'm still pretty new to this and am not aware that I've had a flare up before. Are flare ups normally ALL symptoms are much worse or can it be just one or two symptoms? I'm not experiencing any fibro fog at the moment. Sleep is rubbish and I have a constant pain in my left wrist with random pulsing pains in knees, elbows, feet, but other than that, nothing significant.

I came off amitriptyline a couple of months ago, because I didn't get any relief from it and am just taking prescription co-codamol together with ibuprofen when needed (which is more than I am comfortable with at the moment and it only takes the edge off).

So fed up. Have a huge list of things I was finally going to get done over the Christmas break, but have achieved virtually nothing so far except managing to walk the dogs each day.

I also have a cold that's nearly 2 weeks in!!! :(

Sorry for the moan, I don't normally feel sorry for myself, but just had enough and I know you will understand!
In a perfect world, every dog would have a home and every home would have a dog
Padster