Brain Fog - advice please

All your fibromyalgia experiences, questions and answers.

Moderators: perseus, *Lisa*, FluppyPuffy

Brain Fog - advice please

Postby Smartie50 » Wed Jul 27, 2016 10:54 am

Hi everyone

I hope that you are all having a pain free day. I wonder if anyone can give me any advice regarding brain fog. I have been signed off from work for six weeks as I have had reoccurring coughs and colds this year and the Occupational Health nurse at work suggested that I get my GP to sign me off to rest. I go back to work in two weeks time.

I was hoping that I would feel rested and raring to go but I don't. My mind just feels as though it is full of cotton wool, and mentally I feel like I have had no time off at all. I am working part time, four days a week and I am studying at the moment and I have a lot of work to do for the end of the first year of my course, but I cannot concentrate. My mind just feels as though it doesn't want to function. Is this normal with fibro?

I have also recently been diagnosed with asthma and I have just had a sleep study done as my GP is wondering if I am suffering with sleep apnea. I was told that the results of the sleep study would take six weeks, but I received a letter from the hospital to go and see them next week which is about two weeks from the sleep study being done, so I am worrying why they want to see me so quickly especially as it is not the sleep clinic that want to see me.

Does anyone else suffer with sleep apnea and would this be causing the brain fog? The hospital mentioned that I might need to use a CPAP machine but I know nothing about this. Any advice that anyone can give me would be appreciated. Thank you. xx
Smartie50
UKFM Newbie

Re: Brain Fog - advice please

Postby Alexandromeda » Wed Jul 27, 2016 10:14 pm

I can't help with the apnea but I find certain foods can make my fog much worse. I keep away from any processed meat such as bacon, sausage, ham etc. Also dark chocolate.
Alexandromeda