Walking Sticks and Disability Parking

All your fibromyalgia experiences, questions and answers.

Moderators: perseus, *Lisa*, FluppyPuffy

Walking Sticks and Disability Parking

Postby Jazin95 » Fri Oct 14, 2016 12:40 pm

Hey, I am a newbie to the group. I was diagnosed with fibro last year and, to be honest, I am still getting used to it. However, lately, I have been having a lot of trouble with my stability, balance and walking a far distance. (Sometimes I feel they go hand in hand.) You see I'm a History and Art teacher in training and whilst on my month long holiday I had three pretty bad falls and many close calls, making five bad falls within the last year, as I was reminded by a friend. I feel like my legs just don't want to hold be up when I am tired and with lack of decent sleep that's most of the time bad and really bad when I have a flair up, not to mention when I go shopping.
All this got me seriously considering if I should make that step and buy a walking stick or cane and possibly asking my doctor for a parking permit on my bad days. What do you guys think? Is that a smart thing to do? I am only 21 and the idea of a cane and a 'disability' parking permit scares me.
Jazin95
UKFM Newbie

Re: Walking Sticks and Disability Parking

Postby Tired18 » Fri Oct 14, 2016 12:55 pm

Hi, the best thing to do is tiger your GP to refer you to your local independent living centre. They will help you with a walking stick or maybe even a wheel chair. You need to apply for a Blue Badge though the local council.
Tired18
UKFM Newbie

Postby lynlyn1212 » Fri Oct 14, 2016 8:48 pm

Hi.