Women and smear tests.........

Anything to do with the NHS or Private Healthcare.

Moderators: perseus, *Lisa*, FluppyPuffy

Women and smear tests.........

Postby tireesix » Mon Sep 19, 2011 10:26 am

Sorry, not fibro related but I am so hacked off.......... All I wanted is a smear test, had a load of abnormal ones, been through treatment twice, had a couple of clear ones in the past couple of years, just phoned to ask for another one but they won't let me.

It just seems stupid, you refuse smear tests and you get letters all the time from the PCT telling you should go for a smear test, then, when you actually want one, even when you have had past negatives and are still not past the 'clear' stage, you have to jump thruogh hoops to get one.........

I have been spotting for a couple of months or so, now I am getting abdominal pain etc and due to past history, it seemed the best way forward would be to simply have a smear, especially as I am DUE my yearly one soon anyway. Instead I have to go see my GP and be referred to hospital is need be.......... Why can't I just have my nearly due smear and save the GP the hassle????? It could just be my ablation failing even though its only been 2 years since it was done, so I guess I will be referred anyway.

Surely, women should be able to get a smear if they feel its appropriate???? All I used to have to do is just call up and ask for one, if I felt it necessary.

Maybe I am just being overly sensitive about it all cos I am in quite a lot of discomfort and have been on and off for a while now but its particularly bad at the moment and has been for a number of days and I have had the weird spotting etc.........

Also, my mum had cervical cancer, a lot of the people she knew who had it at the same time as she did are now dead from cancer, so maybe thats playing on my mind as well.
Katie X
tireesix
UKFM Member

Re: Women and smear tests.........

Postby Azz » Mon Sep 19, 2011 12:33 pm