Finally, a breakthrough?

Anything to do with the NHS or Private Healthcare.

Moderators: perseus, *Lisa*, FluppyPuffy

Finally, a breakthrough?

Postby geb0205 » Tue Oct 25, 2011 10:07 pm

I had a diagnosis of fibro last september time, and have all the typical symptoms (widespread, bilateral pain, trigger points, headache, sensitivity to medication/smell/light, IBS, fatigue, poor sleep, fibrofog) but for the past year, the pain is just getting worse and worse.

I work as an Osteopath, it's a manual job, and I listen to people complaining about their pain all day when I have chronic pain myself! Ironic maybe but I love my job. Recently, it's getting to the point that I am really dreading going to work because of the pain. I feel lazy because I am finding exercise harder and harder. I am lucky enough to have a horse that needs working, but I can't bring myself to ride her as it produces so much pain. The GP's really are helpless, all they suggest is amitryptyline, and cocodamol/tramadol. One very kindly told me "You can't live on pain killers all your life!"

I'm beginning to get to the point where I feel guilty for doing nothing, and that I am actually imagining it, that I'm just lazy and thats why I'm getting the pain.

After talking through things with a pain consultant on an acupuncture course a couple of weeks ago, I thought I'd bite the bullet and go BACK to the GP's and try and get a referral. I think I visit them atleast once a month. Last time I went, I discussed the possible link between thyroid and fibro, but to no avail. The GP had never heard of such a link. :hit1: