Can you Choose your GP

Anything to do with the NHS or Private Healthcare.

Moderators: perseus, *Lisa*, FluppyPuffy

Can you Choose your GP

Postby neferhapi » Fri Nov 23, 2012 5:39 pm

Hi I am a bit new to this so please bear with me and apologies if this is covered in another thread on the forum but I am more than a little anxious about loosing my current GP as I have recently moved. I am still in the same postcode area as I was before (I am about a 15 minute walk from my old address) and wondered if anyone knew if there was some way I could stay with this GP even though it is not my closest anymore.
I have had fibro symptoms for 15 years and it has destroyed my life but every time I went to the GP I was routinely given a diagnosis of depression as I have had a number of personal problems in my life (although I have never suffered from depression, weeping, suicidal thoughts etc) anyway eventually after 15 years of being fobbed off 4 months ago I saw a new GP at my surgery who mentioned fibro and said he thought I had it.
I have had inconclusive blood tests and have been put on ami and naproxyn and it helps a bit (2 pain free days in 4 months) but have not been to see a Rheumy and am unsure if I have been given a proper diagnosis.
The thought of having to see a new GP and to go back to square on is keeping me awake at night (which is really helpful) I am able to work and am lucky enough to only have fairly mild symptoms such as constant pain (although most days I can function) tenderness and skin sensitivity, restless legs, fatique, insulin resistance and problems with my sinuses. All of these are managable but only with painkillers and meds.
I have an appointment with my nice GP on Wednesday and would appreciate any advice on how to tackle this.
neferhapi
UKFM Member

Can you Choose your GP

Postby Morgana » Fri Nov 23, 2012 6:12 pm