Meds worries . . .

Anything to do with the NHS or Private Healthcare.

Moderators: perseus, *Lisa*, FluppyPuffy

Meds worries . . .

Postby Fyguy » Fri Apr 11, 2014 9:46 am

Hi, newbie here :wave:

I'm 40 years old, male and have been suffering for a couple of years now. I was prescribed codeine over a year ago now and I know that I'm dependent on it. I went to see a new Dr this week and she prescribed me Gabapentin and said that I should try to ween myself off codeine, I thought nice idea and I would love to try but I actually depend on it and think it does make a difference. Any way, never thought any more about it until I received a call from my practice saying that they had drew up a plan for me and prepared my repeat prescriptions. I picked them up and the plan is basically telling when to take my codeine and dropping one or so every day. The repeat prescriptions are weekly and diminish in quantity every week until zero! I'm not sure how I feel about this, I know codeine isn't good for you long term, but to me, any bit of relief is worth it. . .

Thoughts?
Fyguy
UKFM Newbie

Re: Meds worries . . .

Postby SchroedingersCat » Fri Apr 11, 2014 9:54 am

This list would be enough of a reason for me to listen to my doctor http://codeinerehab.com/about-codeine/l ... f-codeine/ but given that I limit myself to paracetamol, I'm probably a little biased.
SchroedingersCat
UKFM Member

Postby InkyBob » Fri Apr 11, 2014 11:43 am

Hi Fyguy,

I can understand the nervousness about coming off a medication you've been finding useful - particularly if codeine is the first thing you've found that helped the pain.

However, it's worth giving gabapentin a try. It works on a different mechanism from codeine, actually helping the nerves be less "tetchy" and reducing the pain that way. (there's a good leaflet on gabapentin here: http://www.cuh.org.uk/cms/sites/default ... ervice.pdf )