I just can't do my job any more

Anything to do with the NHS or Private Healthcare.

Moderators: perseus, *Lisa*, FluppyPuffy

I just can't do my job any more

Postby Lucylastik » Fri Mar 20, 2015 5:55 pm

Hello all
I've been steadily getting worse over the last couple of years with stiffness, immobility in my arms, shoulders, fingers, knees in fact all my joints but lately this is now affecting my muscle groups especially in the upper arms, neck, shoulders and weirdly my left leg (where I also have restless leg). Very often I wake up with cramp like symptoms and I can't move properly for several hours.
Sometimes I lift my arm up to adjust a bra strap and my shoulder feels like its popped out of its socket, its so painful. Then I can't seem to get it back into position. This also happens when I'm driving, often when I'm turning the wheel in busy traffic.
Now this wouldn't be so bad but I am a taxi driver and I just don't feel safe or capable to do my job any more. I am seriously exhausted all the time. At first I put it down to the thyroid because I do suffer with not sleeping but the meds they gave me for that make me groggy and zombie like so I don't like to take them if I'm working the next day.
I'm self employed but I have got disability insurance, which I've been paying for the last 15 years but to claim I have to get signed off by my doctor. This is where I have a problem as I've only been with this practice for little over a year and as I hate doctors, (I also have hypothyroidism, PCOS, Osteoporosis, IBS) I haven't yet been diagnosed as being incapable/unfit to work.
However this year I've been really poorly with the flu in Jan, terrible aches and pains (I think it's worse when its cold) in Feb and so far I haven't managed to work any days in March at all.
My savings are gone and my long term partner works every hour god sends to support us but his wage will no longer cover us and I am desperate now which is why I have to claim with my insurance.