Seeing Neurologist

Anything to do with the NHS or Private Healthcare.

Moderators: perseus, *Lisa*, FluppyPuffy

Seeing Neurologist

Postby amjs » Mon Nov 16, 2009 5:16 pm

Hi all, I was diagnosed by a Rhematologist in June 2009 with Fibro after being investigated and gradually becoming less well since 2005. The reason I write now is that I started of by seeing a neurologist as I have had some neurological problems over the past 4 years, balance, increasing long and acute migraines, speech problems etc. I have been scanned etc and it has been decided some time ago that I have suffered a couple of mini strokes.

I am due to go to the neurologist this Friday but I was not acutally expecting an appt, I can only presume that my GP who is very caring, but seems to bring everthing back to 'are you depressed?' may have taken my comment about my memory seemly getting worse. I used to be a secondary school teacher in English but some days find it a challenge to spell any word.
My GP does listen but as I try to explain to her, I believe any reasonable person would be a little fed up if they were unable to do things they used to.
Generally I am a positive person and I guess I shall wait to see what the Neuro bod has to say, since Fibro is meant to be Neuro, I must think and write down some questions to ask.

Well thanks for reading, I just needed to chat.
Hugs to you all
:hugs:
amjs
UKFM Member

Re: Seeing Neurologist

Postby gillshutt » Mon Nov 16, 2009 6:20 pm

Glad your gp seems to be listening and I hope the neuro can help in some way. I'm waiting for my 2nd appointment which will hopefully be soon. I had another MRI but it was all clear, he'll probably just say there's no known reason for my neuro symptoms but I've printed off some info on FM for him.

Since it's now thought to be a CNS problem he should know how to deal with FM patients who come to see him.
gillshutt
UKFM Regular

Postby shazq » Mon Nov 16, 2009 6:23 pm