what next

Anything to do with the NHS or Private Healthcare.

Moderators: perseus, *Lisa*, FluppyPuffy

what next

Postby tracyb » Tue Jan 25, 2011 11:51 pm

ive just been diagnosed with fibro and my gp had already put me on amatryptolene 20mg at night. The consultant who diagnosed me said no point in him seeing me again as nothing he can do and he will refer me to phsio and OT oh and told me to go swimming 3 times a week. So not sure what happens now the amatryptolene isnt really helping and im awake most of the evening i drive a lot for my job and need my wits about me as im a computer engineer but I need something for the pain in the day because by the time I get home at night im in agony my fingers and feet are swollen and feel generally rubbish. I get confused in work for no reason I know what I want to say it just comes out of my mouth all wrong, its getting embarrassing. Ive told my boss that i been diagnosed with osteoarthritis and fibro but to be honest they dont seem to take it serious. Not sure what to do next do I go back to gp an try and sort pain meds out, bearing in mind it took her 8 months to send me to consultant as I dont think she believed me about the pain.
Scared of this taking hold I want to fight it but am really struggling as to my next step, trying to find alternative therapies as well.

Any advice would be good
Thanks
Tracy x
tracyb
UKFM Newbie

Re: what next

Postby denys » Wed Jan 26, 2011 12:06 am

Hi Tracy, you need to go back to your doc if the amis arent working, you dont say how long you have been on them? they can take quite a while to get into your system, but if you have been on them some time then go back as there are other things to try.