Hello and ... help!

Introduce yourself and find fellow sufferers in your area or who share the same interests.

Moderators: perseus, *Lisa*, FluppyPuffy

Hello and ... help!

Postby MedStudent » Tue Aug 02, 2011 7:04 pm

Hi all,

I've been diagnosed with FM since the age of 15 (although really I've had symptoms since I was 13/14). I'm now 21 and the symptoms have, if anything, gotten worse. I'm a medical student, so I'm (unhelpfully to the FM) doing a very stressful course. I'm currently on amitriptyline and I'm really not sure how much it's doing for me besides reducing the standard 'baseline' migraine and pain that I have every day. In terms of management I avoid bright lights/noises/sounds/tastes/smells, stress and over-exertion etc (I used to be one of those really annoying athletic types that never stopped).
I'm looking to lifestyle-manage the FM more as I really don't want to upgrade to the anti-convulsants or opioid pain-killers until it's absolutely necessary. So I'm posting on here with this horribly long message to introduce myself and ask anyone if they have any personal techniques for FM management! I've found that there's a difference between what the literature tells us what will make us feel better and what actually DOES help, so any input would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers!

Elle
MedStudent
UKFM Newbie

Re: Hello and ... help!

Postby shazq » Tue Aug 02, 2011 7:31 pm

Hi Elle :welcome: to the forum :wave:

You might find things like yoga or pilates might help to relax you or even listening to music, as avoiding stress is a must as it will trigger a flare.
A Tens machine is good for pain.

A memory foam topper is a great help for the achy bones, they are so comfy, they help with the morning stiffness.

Learn to listen to your body and pace, if it's telling you need a break then take one. :hugs:

My head is foggy tonight :facepalm: iam sure the others will give you some better tips. :wine: