New to the forum, new to fibromyalgia.

Introduce yourself and find fellow sufferers in your area or who share the same interests.

Moderators: perseus, *Lisa*, FluppyPuffy

Postby mcconnellla » Wed Jul 18, 2012 11:07 am

Hi everyone,

This is all very new to me, my name is Laura, I'm 24 and live in London with my 2yr son and partner. I'm a nurse and only working part time. I have had back problems from I was 5 months pregnant, ( told it would go away once baby was born) funny enough it didn't then the story of, only ten percent of women have this problem after birth (I'm just unlucky appar) months of Physio, pain killers, morphine patches, acupuncture and chiropractors etc. still no direct answer of what was wrong other than 'facet joint &muscle/ligament pain' continue with pain classes, exercises and Physio. Go back to work from maternity, lasted 3 weeks off sick or 5 months. Since this iv still not got anywhere until I see a private consultant who after checks and tests explains its fibro. Newly put on pregabalin & quinine with all other meds. Only now I see all the other links and symptoms; IBS, migranes, numbness, pins and needles and fatigue.

Sorry for extremely long post but I don't know how to deal with having this for life, I'm young, a mother and no one seems to understand? My friends switch off when I talk to them, (all I do is moan and have something wrong every other week!!) how to explain what is going with me is very difficult?? Any help out there.

I find it difficult to work and spend days off bathing in Epsom salts and resting to enable me to go to work. What are the options for the people that can't work? Support?

Help ...
mcconnellla
UKFM Member

Re: New to the forum, new to fibromyalgia.

Postby denys » Wed Jul 18, 2012 11:22 am