Newbie here to this forum

Introduce yourself and find fellow sufferers in your area or who share the same interests.

Moderators: perseus, *Lisa*, FluppyPuffy

Newbie here to this forum

Postby shanmoo » Mon Mar 25, 2013 1:47 pm

Hello there,
I was diagnosed with FM a year ago, following several years of illness. It had started with trigeminal neuralgia and facial pain together with IBS about 6 years ago, then I started getting back pain, and unfortunately fell on my spine and gave myself whiplash which was never healed properly.
About 2 years ago I started to get bouts of dizziness, near unconsciousness and had difficult walking.
Thyroid tested, told had hashimotos and a variable thyroid reading but this wouldnt be causing my symptoms.
Symptoms much worse when back pain flared up. Pain went into legs and arms. Also had neck and shoulder pain for years which was just getting worse.
Hospitalised several times due to unable to function, in a wheelchair quite often at the hospital. Was admitted to a rheumy ward, but told there was nothing wrong with me, just a bit of benign back pain and I just needed a few exercises.
Had also been told several times that my symptoms were psychosomatic.
I have had depression and anxiety for years, but I got suicidal with this illness.

Physiotherapist suggested that I should get checked out for FM.
Sure was, and also have hypermobility syndrome
Also had MRI of the spine and I have some facet joint degeneration in the lower spine.
Other conditions are vasovagal syncope, GERD, migraines, IBS, facial pain and I now have an underactive thyroid which I take meds for.

I suffer very badly with anxiety and depression.

Was on ESA last year but this was stopped in July last year due to finding of fitness for work.

I did start a part time job in October whilst appealing that decision. The work had nothing to do with the decision, but I had improved a bit and wanted to try working.

Im still in the job, but struggling.