Fibro Newbie

Introduce yourself and find fellow sufferers in your area or who share the same interests.

Moderators: perseus, *Lisa*, FluppyPuffy

Fibro Newbie

Postby Wackers34 » Tue Apr 30, 2013 1:58 pm

Hi all

Im 34 and was diagnosed with Fibromyalgia in March of this year after having the pains for only 4 months before this. So Im quite new to all of it, but have been on so many medications already.
At first they thought it was anxiety and put me on Citralopram this did not agree with me and made me slightly manic... :crazy:

It started with a pain in my back one day when I woke, then moved to my chest, then to my neck...now its all over and in arms and legs...I also have IBS, Heartburn, terrible fatigue, awful sleep problems...got all the nerve symptoms also, buzzing, tingling, prickling, burning in arms and legs and on scalp...the list is endless and this has all happened in about 5 months!

I have been signed off work since Jan and am now on a graded return of 2 days a week. I also have two small children 4, and 2 to look after.

I have tried Mitrazapine for sleep, made me too drowsy, then Amitriliptine then I decided to try and do it naturally for a while and tried 5HTP, magnesium malate, fish oils, vit B compex and Vitamin D...This was going ok was only a few weeks into this, but the pain got so unbearable and I had a friend who tried Cymbalta...she also has fibro and it worked for her. Tried this last week and again made me slightly manic...started getting muscle jerks, tremors, sweating profusely...just doesnt agree with me!

So today I rang the doctor, he wants me to go back onto the amitrilyptine, as i was only on it for 4 weeks at a 10mg dose, I have Tramadol to take as and when and also been given Diazepam (to help with muscle jerks at night - This has helped me before)

My sleep is awful...I can go most days with only 2-3 hours...when I was on Mitrazapijne i got about 8 hours but i was too sedated next day.