My Fibro Story

Introduce yourself and find fellow sufferers in your area or who share the same interests.

Moderators: perseus, *Lisa*, FluppyPuffy

My Fibro Story

Postby Sandii5 » Fri May 03, 2013 10:12 pm

Hi,
My name is Sandra I'm 43, married 5 children , 3 step children (don't worry only the 16,10 and 2 year old at home :-D ) and (well was) a full time nurse until last December when I first realised after 2 months the constant colds, tiredness and pains just weren't going away.
I went to the GP in October ( as a nurse I generally prefer to avoid GP's now they are almost my only adult conversation, other than my husband) and was prescribed the usual round of painkillers, antibiotics (my throat is always on fire) and blood tests by December I was climbing the walls and finally off work sick after a horrendous 13 hr shift completely in pain but so short staffed I had no time for even a break :( . The GP who saw me in December didn't see me they saw the shell of what used to be me wrapped up in a cocoon of pain and tiredness, and fraught with depression. At that point in time I firmly blamed my job I was sometimes working 4 x 13hr shifts a week in an extremely busy acute cancer ward, draining both physically and emotionally.
But after being off work for 4 weeks at the end of Dec (foolishly thinking i'd get better) my pain had spread from my shoulder and right hip to every joint imaginable, there was no sleep :cry: .
The GP then referred me to a Rheumatologist as I was asking them to Xray nearly every part of my body, I also had pain in my fingers and toes so was put on Amitriptiline could it get worse unfortunately YES :shock: .
I was seen by The Rheumatologist at the end of Jan as an appt came up last minute so snapped it up, by then my mobility was down to nothing everytime I moved or stood my hip/knee/ankle pain was immense.
I was given more blood tests to do and a full body bone scan.