I don't want sympathy.....I just need understanding.

Introduce yourself and find fellow sufferers in your area or who share the same interests.

Moderators: perseus, *Lisa*, FluppyPuffy

I don't want sympathy.....I just need understanding.

Postby degsy » Tue Dec 17, 2013 1:16 pm

Hi fellow FM sufferers. I am a newbie to this site and want to explain what I am feeling. I am a male and am 65 next week. My FM came as a result of serving in gulf war 1 and has been admitted by the MOD. Over the years it has got progressivly worse, to such an extent that now I am being tested for MS. My Neurologist doesn't think it is but wants to carry out the tests if just to rule it out.

Having read some of the forums, I can identify alot of what I am going through. As a male, I find it particulally hard to accept that I now have limitations. I used to be very active and now struggle to do the most basic things. (My arms are hurting like hell just typing this) To look at me, you would think there is nothing wrong and that lead to the breakdown of my marriage, but thats another story.

I feel the lack of understanding from my family amd find it hard to explain to them what I am going through. I have been using a stick and a walker. I have a little Westie who loves going for his walks, but now, even just a short distance is agony. To this extent, I have now got an electric wheelchair which enables me to take him on great long walks without all the pain of doing it. My son has said, once you get into a wheelchair, you never get out of it. But he is so wrong. I still take jack by walking even though it is painfull, but I feel the need to keep going as much as possible. I am not ready to give up totally just yet.

I wish I could get people to try and understand what is happening to me, I do find it difficule to talk about as I feel my "Manly" image has been shattered and I feel little self worth.

I am writing on here because, maybe like minded people read and can understand me a little.