Hello from a newbie

Introduce yourself and find fellow sufferers in your area or who share the same interests.

Moderators: perseus, *Lisa*, FluppyPuffy

Hello from a newbie

Postby yves173 » Mon Dec 30, 2013 4:21 pm

Hi, I'm eve 30 years old and was only diagnosed in October after having suffered with different symptoms of fibromyalgia since my teens if not before! It's a relief when you finally get a diagnosis but then you realise that your friends and family have no knowledge/understanding of the disease its difficult to tell them how your feeling.In my case I think that people presume that because I'm a health professional that I can understand/cope with it but they're wrong it doesn't work that way! So anyway found out about this forum recently and thought I'd give it a go. It would be nice to chat with someone who knows how fibromyalgia affects you. Hope everyone had as good a Xmas as they could manage! X

Sent from my KFAPWI using Tapatalk
yves173
UKFM Member

Re: Hello from a newbie

Postby *Lisa* » Mon Dec 30, 2013 6:26 pm

HI and :welcome:

Lots of chattering going on around the boards :-D

:wave: :wave: :wave:
As a Public Moderator & Admin of this forum my opinions/views expressed are personal and are no more valid than those of other members and not necessarily those of UKFibromyalgia...Lisa
*Lisa*

Postby whoami » Mon Dec 30, 2013 6:44 pm

Hello Yves and welcome to our growing family. I say family because we all have at least one thing in common and we understand each other.

You are right about people assuming that you should have all the answers about fibro, know all the treatments and therefore your symptoms must be minimal. Did you not know that Dr's, nurses and other health care workers do not get ill, that seems to be the misconception of many.

You will find lots of info , support and understanding here.
[i][b]

Expect the worst in life you won't be disapointed and you'll be prepared!
whoami
UKFM Regular