Hello everyone! Just joined :)

Introduce yourself and find fellow sufferers in your area or who share the same interests.

Moderators: perseus, *Lisa*, FluppyPuffy

Hello everyone! Just joined :)

Postby Jont » Tue Feb 04, 2014 3:12 pm

Hi guys!

My name is Jon. I am 33 years old and live in the UK.

I have had a "mystery" condition for about five years now. I have spent the last five years in and out of hospitals etc, but have gained little to no insight into the problem, with all blood tests etc coming out normal. The general feeling from various doctors in various countries is that the condition is Fibromyalgia, and after reading various literatures I am inclined to finally agree, after putting off acceptance of FM for as long as possible.

Symptoms are the classic, pains and trigger points, tiredness, rashes, headaches, depression/anxiety/stress and so forth.

For 15 years I was a structural engineer. I Managed to keep working full time until early 2013, then part time until September 2013, and then finally stopped working all together after that, and am now going the process of seeking benefit allowance to live, from the government.

I have accepted that there is no cure and that it is just something you have to learn to live with. Though I am not going to give up hope altogether, as I have read many success stories of people healing.

I live in Cambridgeshire, and I am new to the forum. Are there such things as local meets between sufferers? I have met only a handful of FM/Chronic Pain sufferers since I have become ill and it was always a good experience and something I would be up for.

Thanks all - look forward to talking with y'all :)
Jont
UKFM Member

Re: Hello everyone! Just joined :)

Postby denys » Wed Feb 05, 2014 3:13 am