Other illnesses beginning long before FM symptoms

Introduce yourself and find fellow sufferers in your area or who share the same interests.

Moderators: perseus, *Lisa*, FluppyPuffy

Other illnesses beginning long before FM symptoms

Postby Gingermama » Thu Nov 20, 2014 5:27 pm

Hi all I'm a newbie, only diagnosed this week. Getting my head round it all still at mo but finding this forum very useful!

My query is this;

I got diagnosed about 13 years ago with IBS and 7 years ago I got diagnosed with hashimotos disease (under active thyroid) following the birth of my eldest.
My FM symptoms of pain and fatigue probably started about 3-4 years ago. Initially with hip pain and pelvic instability when I was pregnant 4 years ago. I was given an insert to wear in one shoe as one leg is slightly shorter than the other, which I have also read is another common issue. Then about 3 years ago I started getting pain in my legs and fatigue. I was treated for depression (which I did have too) and also for vitamin b12 deficiency.

Now I have finally been diagnosed and have been researching FM and its symptoms I've found that all of these are common symptoms of FM too.

Has anyone else experienced this? Common FM symptoms being there long before the FM pain and fatigue sets in?
Thanks for everyone's support through this xxx
Gingermama
UKFM Member

Re: Other illnesses beginning long before FM symptoms

Postby Zia2014 » Thu Nov 20, 2014 5:31 pm

Oh yes. My IBS started 14 years ago, and my depression started when I was a kid, although it really kicked in 9 years ago.

Fibro definitely only started this year, despite people continually telling me I must have had it for longer?!!!! :roll:

Welcome to the forum btw!
Zia2014
UKFM Regular

Postby carolad » Thu Nov 20, 2014 8:10 pm

Gingermama wrote: