Help I am new to this

Introduce yourself and find fellow sufferers in your area or who share the same interests.

Moderators: perseus, *Lisa*, FluppyPuffy

Help I am new to this

Postby janeyd » Fri Jan 29, 2010 11:30 am

Hello
hope I am doing this right am a virgin to it (long time since I could say that)
I am 53 and my doc doesn't seem to believe inanything like ME,IBS or FM. Feels like I,m talking about radio stations!
For years I have struggled with depression, joint pain, panic attacks and IBS.
My doc only seems to look at each one not the whole picture.
Because of the IBS I can't take a lot of tablets and prefer the holistic approach.
I am asking for advice from all of you who undestand FM better than me. Do you think this sounds like my problem? I am so fed up of whinging or at least that how it sounds. But I can tackle problems if I know what they are.
Bad day today so any advice appreciated. :cry:
janeyd
UKFM Newbie

Re: Help I am new to this

Postby gillshutt » Fri Jan 29, 2010 12:50 pm

:hugs: and welcome

If you have joint pain then ask your gp to refer you to a rheumatologist then you can take it up with them by suggesting someone else has mentioned FM. Failing that can you not see a different gp or change to a different surgery?

Stick with us and we'll do what we can to help.
gillshutt
UKFM Regular

Re: Help I am new to this

Postby crazynightowl » Mon Feb 08, 2010 4:03 am

Hiya,
I'd say to your GP could he refer you to a rheumatologist to investigate your joint pain?
Then, when you see the rheum consultant- you can ask them about the FM, cos they should be a lot more clued up on it.
If your GP won't refer you, i suggest you either if poss, ask for an apt with another GP who works in the same practice, or if that's not possible- move to a different GP practice.