Anyone tried meletonin to help with sleep?

For all your questions and experiences of illnesses associated with FM e.g. thyroid, IBS, TMJD etc.

Moderators: perseus, *Lisa*, FluppyPuffy

Anyone tried meletonin to help with sleep?

Postby Iceskatemum » Sat Mar 09, 2013 9:42 am

Every so often I get periods where nothing seems to work with regards helping me sleep . I then spend the best part of the night either up and about the house trying not to disturb anyone or tossing & turning in bed.

I have read about Meletonin helping some people back into a normal sleep pattern. I know its prescription only in the UK but from what I've read you can bring some into the UK provided its for personal use.

Has anyone every used Meletonin and if so were they prescribed it or did they use an over the counter suppliment.

Many thanks

ISM
Iceskatemum
UKFM Regular

Re: Anyone tried meletonin to help with sleep?

Postby SharonL42 » Sat Mar 09, 2013 9:51 am

Hi ISM,

I'm a nurse & work with children with severe learning disabilities & complex health needs. A lot of them have altered sleep patterns & are prescribed Melatonin to help them adjust back to a more normal pattern.

Some of them are on it long term, some for only a short time but it definitely helps & it is a chemical which everyone produces to make them feel tired.

I don't know much about it's use in adults but know it's only licenced for use in children over 12 & available on prescription in the uk.

I would certainly discuss it with your GP tho, esp if.gov are taking other meds.

Love Sharon xx

Keep Smiling :-)
Keep Smiling :)
SharonL42
UKFM Member

Postby dotty lotty » Sun Mar 10, 2013 8:31 am

I find valerain helps but always check no interaction with prescribed meds. :teddy-bear:
dotty lotty
UKFM Member

Postby Iceskatemum » Sun Mar 10, 2013 11:23 am