Rib Pain

For all your questions and experiences of illnesses associated with FM e.g. thyroid, IBS, TMJD etc.

Moderators: perseus, *Lisa*, FluppyPuffy

Rib Pain

Postby Twotone » Mon Jan 27, 2014 7:37 pm

I have recently begun to experience really severe rib pain right down both sides, it is driving me to distraction, I work as a nurse and its becoming nigh impossible to carry out my duties, because of the fibromyalgia I only work 25 hrs a week but as I say that is beginning to be too much for me and the bills need to be paid, I've tried applying for benefits but was turned down, sorry for going on a bit but it helps sometimes. So if anyone has experienced this pain let me know. Thanks. Tony XX.
Twotone
UKFM Newbie

Re: Rib Pain

Postby fletch » Mon Jan 27, 2014 8:03 pm

I get this pain Tony regularly and it literally decks me I cant even stand at the sink because the pain just gets worse and worse

I have not found anything that helps when I have this pain sorry
fletch
UKFM Member

Postby Denbev » Mon Jan 27, 2014 8:09 pm

i thought i was on my own with having pain just under my ribs,but dont like going docs in case they think im a hypochondriac, but very uncomfortable +like u i cant afford not to work as cannot claim any benefits!! dont know how some people claim for years,sometimes i think we're the fools for trying to do the decent thing+work all our lives+keep pushing ourselves!! :-x :-x
Denbev
UKFM Member

Postby FluppyPuffy » Mon Jan 27, 2014 8:34 pm

There is an often~associated condition of FM, Costchondritis, that causes pain in and around the rib area. It's due to the cartlege in and around the rib cage becoming inflamed. To see if costo is the reason for what you're experiencing, a trip to the GP will be necessary. If costo is responsible, it tends to be managed/treated with anti~inflammatory meds.