High BP with pounding headache!

For all your questions and experiences of illnesses associated with FM e.g. thyroid, IBS, TMJD etc.

Moderators: perseus, *Lisa*, FluppyPuffy

High BP with pounding headache!

Postby Kimmy xx » Thu Mar 06, 2014 2:10 pm

Hi guys and gals,
This is my first time posting, please be gentle with me ;) hehe
I've gone to write many of times, I just always delete the message and leave it. My story is very long, so I'll not bore you with it. Basically, I was diagnosed with fibromyalgia late last year. I had a spinal fusion in Dec 2013 and I have been diagnosed with 'recurrent L5/S1 disc prolapse with lateral canal stenosis and degenerative retrolysthesis. I've not got a clue what either of these things are, although, I've been told by my surgeon that in time, I will need further surgery(this is my second op).
Anyway, my main question is, is it normal to have horrendous headaches with eye pains? My mum is in renal failure and told me to take my BP, I wasn't that concerned until I took it. My first reading was 118/103, second reading, 127/118 and my most recent reading is, 147/128. My pulse is always in the 90's. Is this normal for a FM sufferer? Any advice will be greatly appreciated. Many thanks in advance.
I hope you all have a lovely weekend and not in too much pain :/ xx
Kimmy xx
UKFM Newbie

Re: High BP with pounding headache!

Postby hazely » Thu Mar 06, 2014 2:33 pm

Hi i would suggest that you get this checked out at the drs as there could be a number of reasons for raised blood pressure. We have to learn to not assume that everything is down to fibro and get everything checked out. When my bp is raised I do get headaches with it, but ive had mine checked out and its ok. my last bp was 162/108 which was quite alarming.
hazely
UKFM Member

Postby shortnsweet54 » Thu Mar 06, 2014 2:39 pm

http://www.nhs.uk/Conditions/Blood-pres ... ptoms.aspx