Throat narrowing sensation

For all your questions and experiences of illnesses associated with FM e.g. thyroid, IBS, TMJD etc.

Moderators: perseus, *Lisa*, FluppyPuffy

Throat narrowing sensation

Postby Quackers » Fri Sep 03, 2010 5:46 pm

I was just having a look through some posts and my mind went back to a few months back.
I was in the house and was quite contented when all of a sudden without any warning I felt as though I was choking
I sat down and waited for it to pass. Needless to say it didn't.

It wasn't as though I was gasping for breath, I just felt as though my throat was going to close. I tried a drink of water and had no problem swallowing. The feeling just kept getting worse, and although I knew that my throat was fine I just felt it was so tight inside. It went on for quite a while and I was getting quite worried. I phoned the doctor for some advice, something I have never done for myself before, and the receptionist told me that a paramedic would be along soon.

I slowly but surely managed to put the dog in his box and taking my time I unbolted the back gate. By the time I had done all this I was shattered. After about 5 minutes a paramedic arrived. She tested me all over and was very brusque with me. She was treating me as if I was putting it all on. My husband then arrived home from work and I was given the option by the paramedic to go see my doctor, let my husband drive me to A&E or just 'calm down' and wait until it all passed.

I had not a clue what it was all about and asked her what her advice was. She was actually quite rude to me and said she thought that a panic attack hardly qualified for a visit to A&E.
She wrote out a lenghty report and left. My poor husband hadn't a clue what was going on and after a while the feeling did stop. We have never talked about this since. I have never felt so ashamed in all my life.

I honestly do not believe that this was a panic attack.