Hypnotherapy Help

All your questions and experiences of medication and treatments on the NHS or Private Healthcare.

Moderators: perseus, *Lisa*, FluppyPuffy

Hypnotherapy Help

Postby glw » Fri Sep 28, 2012 9:32 am

Hello everyone. This is my first post so I am looking forward to meeting some of you on here.

I am a professional Counsellor and Hypnotherapist and I have become interested in Fibromyalgia and the treatments available for it.

I have noticed that CBT is quite often used but I was wondering if any of you have had experience of Hypnotherapy. In terms of pain management it should theoretically be a very effective treatment, possibly in conjunction with other interventions. I am trying to ensure that my work with Fibromyalgia patients is as effective as possible so I would be grateful for any information regarding your experience of what has worked/not worked for you.

Hypnotherapy must be highly personalised to work effectively but it would be interesting for me to understand whether focus on the pain management is most effective or whether there are "knock on" benefits of concentrating more on aspects such as good sleep and relaxation. Maybe its best to create a balance between all, and maybe its different for each of you.

Anyway, I would be very grateful for any insight you can provide to the condition and your Hypnotherapy experiences. I, in turn, would of course me happy to answer any questions you may have about Hypnosis as a therapy.

Graham
glw
UKFM Newbie

Re: Hypnotherapy Help

Postby miller » Sat Sep 29, 2012 2:05 am