Newbie to FM and Gabapentin

All your questions and experiences of medication and treatments on the NHS or Private Healthcare.

Moderators: perseus, *Lisa*, FluppyPuffy

Newbie to FM and Gabapentin

Postby Dazz75 » Mon Jul 20, 2015 9:17 pm

Hi

I am new to Fibromyalgia after a long process but now i know the cause of the huge amount of symptoms i am getting, and what comes with FM i can start to manage it. I have been on 120mg Duloxetine for while and started taking Amitriptyline a few months ago, only a very low dose 10mg at night. I found after several experiments with the time to take it i worked out 6:30pm was the best time so by 11pm i was dropping off to sleep. They were great at doing the job, kept me asleep however they made me really exhausted the following day as if i didn't have a refreshing sleep. I have chatted with the GP who has changed to Gabapentin about 2 weeks ago started low and increased as any of you may be aware but i feel great at the moment. I have less anxiety due to the pain, i still have the pains but i seem to cope with them better, i used to get really irritable at the slightest noise causing unbearable headaches which then led to a flare up of hip leg pains. Sorry to waffle i am not sure what to expect on a forum.

Just wondering if anyone else has tried Gabapentin, does the drowsiness go after time and has it helped anyone else?
today i found i had uncontrollable twitches in both legs and arms, well i could call them a jerk because they were sudden and shocking. i guess this is a side effect. I had arm and leg jerks before starting them but this was more intense.

Also forgot to say, do i feel great because it is a new medication that my body likes as it did when i first started taking Tramadol.

thanks for reading , Darren
Dazz75
UKFM Newbie

Re: Newbie to FM and Gabapentin

Postby KymmieRAE92 » Mon Jul 20, 2015 10:51 pm

Hey Dazz